​常见问题

卵子捐赠

卵子捐赠会对我以后的生育造成影响吗?

目前没有任何研究表明,捐卵会对女性日后的生育能力造成影响,除非是捐赠女性的健康状况被有所改变。通常情况下,每个月卵子在身体荷尔蒙刺激下都会正常产生。

在提交捐卵申请多久后会被选作捐卵者?

我们的受赠夫妻通过沃希捐卵者信息数据库来做出选择,所以很难确定捐卵者具体什么时间会被选择。夫妻会根据他们自己具体的要求去选择捐卵者,因此有可能有些在数据库中的捐卵者将永远不会被选择。

受赠父母会知道我的身份吗?

因为我们有保密协议,所以捐卵者的姓名和个人信息都不会被公布。我们会提供给受赠夫妻捐赠者的编号,以便他们查看捐赠者的家族医疗史,健康现状,教育背景和特点等。我们会要求捐赠者提供童年时期和其他时期的照片,以便受赠父母观察捐赠者的外貌变化,从而做出最终选择的决定。

取卵过程很痛吗?

取卵手术需要进行麻醉注射,之后在阴道超声波的引导下,一根很细的针头会通过阴道进入卵巢进行取卵。之前的捐卵者说取卵手术后会稍感不适,类似经前腹痛。但是根据每个人身体状况的不同,每个捐卵者的疼痛感也会不同。

取卵手术后,我可以马上恢复运动吗?

我们建议捐卵者在取卵手术完成后的几天内避免剧烈的运动,以便身体能够得到更好的恢复。还有,我们建议捐卵者在接受激素药物治疗期间和取卵后的30天内,不要进行没有安全措施的性行为,因为卵巢在激素刺激作用下,女性受孕的机率会增加。在取卵手术后的月经周期结束后,捐赠者可以恢复性生活;当然,捐赠者必须采取避孕措施。

如果我在避孕,是否需要停止捐赠?

当捐卵者被选择且准备进行激素水平测试时,为了能够确保检测结果的准确性,我们会要求捐卵者停止一切避孕措施。在卵巢刺激阶段开始直到取卵阶段结束,捐卵者仍需停止一切避孕措施。只有在捐卵者完成治疗的随后月经周期结束后,捐卵者可以恢复避孕。为了确保捐赠者的激素水平测试的准确性,在一段时间内,捐赠者需要停止使用激素避孕。口服避孕药常常作为医疗治疗方案中的一部分。一旦捐卵者开始使用卵巢刺激药物,必须立即停止使用避孕药。捐卵者可在取卵手术后的月经周期结束后可以恢复使用避孕药。

作为捐卵者我需要支付任何费用吗?

捐卵者在整个捐卵过程中都不需要支付任何费用,受赠夫妻将会支付所有的疗程治疗费用和酬金。

如果我想同时申请多家捐卵机构,该怎么办?

对于捐卵者想同时申请多家捐卵机构的想法,我们表示理解。然而,我们还是建议捐卵候选者在一个时间段内只考虑与一家捐卵机构合作,从而避免同一时间段内被多个受赠父母选择的可能性。当您的捐赠申请被批准后,意味着您的卵子捐赠配对开始。此时,沃希会要求捐卵者签署一份合约,确保在您完成捐卵的整个过程之内,只与沃希一家捐卵机构合作。

从被选择为捐卵候选者到捐赠结束的整个过程大概需要多长时间?

大多数案例中,捐卵者会接受试管婴儿的第一阶段疗程,包括促排卵药物治疗和取卵手术。之后,受赠者(代理孕母或女性受赠父母)会接受试管婴儿第二阶段冷冻胚胎移植的疗程。如果作为一个新的被选择捐赠者,捐赠过程从开始到结束大约需要2-3个月。其中,该过程包括捐赠者体检,心理评估和完成法律合同签署等。捐卵者的试管婴儿疗程大约需要两周的时间。

激素药物的潜在副作用是什么?

/或头痛。一旦身体激素水平稳定后,以上症状会逐渐消失。但由于每个人的身体状况不同,对药物的反应也会有所不同。卵巢过度刺激会存在极小的风险,例如以下反应:卵巢变大,腹腔积液引起的盆腔疼痛,体重增长,和/或腹胀。不过,在开始使用激素药物后,医疗团队会对捐赠者的身体状况密切监测,为了确保捐赠者身体出现严重反应时能够紧急就医治疗。在目前使用的治疗方案中,捐赠者因卵巢过度刺激而进行住院治疗的情况是很罕见的。

多久可以进行一次卵子捐赠?

美国生殖医学会(ASRM)公布的准则,每一名卵子捐赠者一生最多能捐赠卵子6次。

我已经有自己的孩子了,我还可以捐卵吗?

如果您满足沃希的捐卵要求,并且在您良好的激素水平下能生长健康的卵子,那么您可以进行卵子捐赠。

我为什么要捐赠卵子?

  • 我通过之前捐赠过卵子的朋友得知并了解的卵子捐赠。她告诉我这是帮助别人的一种很好的方式,当我完成卵子捐赠后,我非常同意这样的说法。
  • 当我在省钱去申请研究生学院时,我发现卵子捐赠不失为一个好的途径。我不仅可以从中获得酬金,同时还能帮助其他夫妻。儿子被我视作生命中的重要的一部分,我很高兴能够帮助其他夫妻跟我一样享受为人父母的喜悦。
  • 我的朋友之前是沃希的员工,当我成为两个孩子的妈妈后,朋友强烈建议我成为一名卵子捐赠者或者代孕妈妈,因为沃希优质的服务值得信赖。
  • 自从我第一次遇见Robin,她给我的感觉就像是大姐姐一样。她总是耐心的替我解答疑问,清晰的讲解过程中的每个流程。我很高兴在我帮助别人的同时也在帮助自己。
  • 我是一名全职学生,由于太多的花销,我需要找一份兼职工作来支付部分开销,但我一直没有找到满意的兼职工作,直到我了解了卵子捐赠。虽然卵子捐赠是一个繁琐的过程,但沃希的工作人员尽量帮助配合我的日程安排,让整个捐赠过程顺利开展并完成。

卵子受赠者

什么是卵子捐赠?

简单地说,卵子捐赠是从一名女性的卵巢中取出卵子,该女性通常称之为卵子捐赠者;待卵子与精子受精生长为胚胎后,再将胚胎植入女性受赠者的子宫内。

谁适用于接受卵子捐赠?

女性不能通过自己的卵子成功受孕的原因有很多种,以下为卵子捐赠的适用人群:

  • 不明原因的不孕症
  • 绝经女性- (更年期??)
  • 卵巢功能缺乏,受损或卵巢摘除
  • 携带有遗传给下一代的遗传性疾病
  • 激素水平失衡
  • 卵巢功能早衰

假如第一次捐卵疗程失败怎么办?

卵子捐赠者的治疗过程都是按照药物治疗协议进行,药物治疗的目的是为了捐卵者在一次疗程中能产生最多数量的卵子。在取卵手术中,我们的目的是从捐卵者卵巢中取出质量最好的卵子。在卵子取出后的2-3天内,取出的卵子会和精子受精,并且实验室会对胚胎密切监测生长状况。之后,在第一次疗程中没有被使用的胚胎都将会被冷冻保存以备未来使用。如果第一次疗程失败,受赠者可以继续使用剩余的冷冻胚胎或者进行第二次疗程。

卵子捐赠同样受益于想要组成完整家庭的同性男性夫妻。接受卵子捐赠的同性男性夫妻需要再找一名女性作为代理孕母。同性男性夫妻可以考虑寻找家人、朋友或亲戚作为卵子捐赠者和代理孕母。另一个选择为寻找匿名的卵子捐赠者,从而减少家人或朋友的参与。这个选择可以减少对家人和朋友的情感依附,因此同性夫妻不需要承受太大的压力。

我们要怎样寻找卵子捐赠者?

卵子捐赠的过程从找到一个信誉良好的卵子捐赠机构开始,例如:沃希。现在,生育中心把卵子捐赠作为他们的一项附属服务是一种常见的现象。当受诊夫妻选择接受卵子捐赠后,生育医疗团队和受诊夫妻都将一起为实现成功受孕而共同努力。不管卵子捐赠机构是否隶属于生育中心,卵子捐赠机构都是受赠夫妻寻找可用卵子捐赠候选人的途径之一。除此之外,有一些夫妻可能会选择家人和亲密朋友作为卵子捐赠者。不管受赠者选择哪种捐卵途径,在夫妻决定使用卵子捐赠之前都必须进行慎重的考虑。

我们会让捐赠者知道我们是谁吗?

受赠夫妻选择使用卵子捐赠服务都需要履行沃希制定的匿名条款。如果受赠夫妻决定要把自己介绍给捐赠者认识,在此之前,受赠夫妻必须跟沃希的顾问讨论见面后可能发生的利弊。如果捐卵者不同意见面,捐卵者可以不接受受赠者的选择。任何一家卵子捐赠机构都会制定保护捐赠者和受赠者双方权益的规定和准则。

我可以怎么选择捐卵者,选择标准是什么?

沃希的每一名卵子捐赠者都有其完整详细的档案,其中包括:健康报告,学历背景,家族疾病史,身体特征,兴趣爱好等等。同时,我们也会给受赠父母提供捐赠者不同年龄时期的照片以便参考。根据受赠父母对理想捐赠者的标准和要求,我们会挑选并提供2-3名符合要求的捐赠者让受赠父母进行选择。不同的受赠父母对捐赠者有着不同的要求和标准,有些受赠父母考虑的是捐赠者的外貌特征,有些受赠父母考虑的是捐赠者的家族疾病史。每一对受赠夫妻都有独一无二的选择标准和过程,所以他们会找到独一无二的捐赠者。

我们怎么知道捐卵者捐赠的是健康的卵子?

迄今为止,沃希已经接收到很多的捐卵者申请。沃希卵子捐赠者的年龄范围是19-30岁,此年龄段被认为是女性卵子质量最高的阶段。当我们在审核卵子捐赠者的申请是,我们需要考虑申请人的年龄,健康现状,既往病史,生活方式,学历背景,生活条件,心理健康状况,是否酗酒/吸毒和其他各种因素,为了给受赠者筛选并提供最优质健康的捐赠者。如果卵子捐赠者成为一名潜在候选人,接下来会进行进一步的附加筛查,例如:激素水平测试,生育史,月经周期的规律性等。第二次的筛查结果用于确定捐赠者是否能够提供健康的卵子。然而年龄范围标准并不能确保捐赠者的卵子健康状况。只有透过沃希全面详尽的筛查过程,才能确保沃希给每一位受赠者提供最优质的捐赠候选人。

代理孕母

整个流程需花多长时间?

因每个代母和准父母的状况不同,所以很难预测实际的时间长短,但整个流程从开始到结束准代母需预期至少9-18个月的时间. 在不同的状况下,如代孕妈妈或准父母有不成功受孕或无法预测的状况下,会需要额外的时间.在不同的狀況下,如代母或准父母有不成功受孕或无法预测的狀況下,会需要额外的时间.

如果我无法成功怀孕怎么办?

在一次的疗程中如果没有成功受孕,仍有数次的安全空间尝试.在合约中会提及, 准代母须同意数次的胚胎移植尝试(手术).

身为一个代理孕母,我需要支付任何费用吗?

不需要.所有在代孕流程中产生的费用都是由准父母和保险支付. 如果有需要由代理孕母这方先支付的任何费用产生时, 如: 孕妇装, co-payments, 医疗用品. 我们将以最快的速度偿还给您.

如果我从来不曾有自己的小孩, 我能成为一个代理孕母吗?

不能. 我们的对代母的首要准则就是 因为准父母通常只会选择    有过怀孕经验, 并且在整个怀孕, 生产, 分娩的过程中没有出现任何副作用的代理孕母. 我们会对代母申请者的过往医疗记录及生产记录有着及其严格仔细的调查。

在什么样的情况下会使我无法成为一位代理孕母?

沃希会提供一份依循的准则,  这份准则的目的是为确保我们准代理孕母的人选在身体方面, 心理方面, 和财务方面皆能顺利地为准父母怀孕完全符合作为代母的要求。

如果我有吃避孕药, 我还能成为一个代理孕母吗?

可以, 如果您被选上成为代理孕母, 您将会进行一个让您的身体有利于受孕的疗程. 您将会在任何时候停止用药, 已准备胚胎移植.

我什么时候能收到代理孕母的补偿金?

我们支付代理孕母补偿金的时间如下:

  • ​开始用药时 $600
  • 胚胎移植时 $800
  • $2500确定胎儿心跳时每个月
  • 生产完后14个工作天,代理孕母将领取剩余的所有补偿金

FAQ?

Egg Donors

How will donating eggs affect my ability to have my own children?

Egg donation has not been found to affect the ability for donors to produce eggs for themselves when they are ready to start their own families.  Barring any health changes to the donating female, eggs will produce normally each month as they had prior to beginning the hormone stimulating process.

How soon after I apply as an egg donor will I be selected?

Our egg donor information is entered into a profile database to be viewed by our couples.  It is difficult to determine when and/or if a donor will be selected.  Couples will determine which specific requirements they are looking for in a donor.  It is quite conceivable that some donors are not selected at all from our database profiles.

Will the couple attempt to reach out to me?

Because we have an anonymity policy, egg donor’s names and personal information are undisclosed.  Instead, we assign an identification number to give the couples an opportunity to view the donor’s family medical history, current health, educational background, traits, etc.  We do ask for childhood pictures and other images to help the couples see the physical traits they may need to make a determination on which donor to use.

Is the egg retrieval process painful?

The egg retrieval process is done through transvaginal ultrasound aspiration with a small needle under anesthesia that simply puts you to “sleep” during the process.  Experienced donors have indicated that there is some discomfort after the procedure that feels similar to premenstrual cramping, but no significant pain.  Each individual’s experience will be different.

May I resume my regular physical activities right away?

We recommend that our donors refrain from strenuous physical activity for several days to fully recover from both the anesthesia and the procedure.  In addition, we advise our donors to not engage in unprotected sexual intercourse during the process of the hormone medication treatment and for at least 30 days after the retrieval because of the increased risk of pregnancy due to the hormonally stimulated ovaries. The donor may resume sexual intercourse after she has her period following the egg retrieval.  Of course, she will need to use a form of birth control.

If I’m on birth control, will I have to stop in order to donate?

When a donor has been selected, and is ready to begin hormone testing, we do require that all birth control methods be discontinued.  This will ensure accurate hormone level testing that is necessary for the treatment plan.  Donors will remain off their birth control during the ovarian stimulation phase through the egg retrieval phase.  Only after they have completed their treatment and have had a menstrual cycle again will they be able to resume their birth control. There will be times that the donor’s hormonal birth control will be discontinued, occasionally it’s done for hormone testing.  Oral birth control pills are often used as part of the medical protocol.  Once the ovarian stimulation medication is started, the birth control pills are discontinued.  The donor can resume her birth control with the menstrual period following egg retrieval.

How much will it cost for me to donate?

Donors are not required to pay for the donation process.  The Intended couple will cover the costs associated with the treatment and compensation.

What if I decide to apply with multiple donor agencies?

We understand that you may decide to apply at multiple donor agencies. We encourage egg donor candidates to consider working with one agency at a time to limit the possibility of being selected by multiple intended parents at one time. Our agency does require that our egg donor candidates sign an agreement to work exclusively with us once the application has been approved and the match period has started.

How long does the whole process take from beginning to end as a selected donor?

In most cases, the egg donor goes through a cycle first and the embryos are frozen.  The recipients (e.g. surrogate or maternal Intended Parent) receive frozen embryo transfers.  The process as a newly selected donor takes approximately 2-3 months from beginning to end.  This includes donor medical testing, psychological evaluation and completion of the legal contract.  The IVF cycle itself is approximately 2 weeks total.

What are potential side effects from the hormonal medication?

Similar to a monthly menstrual cycle, donors may feel bloated, cramping, pelvic discomfort, mood swings, and/or headaches. The symptoms subside as they normally do once the hormone levels stabilize. There is a small risk of ovarian hyperstimulation which occurs when the ovaries become enlarged and fluid is present in the abdominal cavity leading to pelvic pain, weight gain and/or bloating. Close monitoring of the donor by the medical team will ensure immediate hospitalization for treatment if needed.

How often may I donate?

The American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM) has established guidelines that allow for a maximum of six cycles for egg donors.

May I donate if I’ve had children of my own already?

If you meet the donor criteria established by OIC and meet the hormone levels that will yield positive egg production, you may donate.

What are some of the reasons to be an egg donor?

  • “I learned about egg donation from a friend who has done it before. She said it was a great way to help people, and I agree after I did it too.”
  • “I was looking for a way to save up funds for graduate school, and this was one way I could get some income, and help a couple at the same time. My son is everything to me, and I am glad I can help a couple get pregnant.”
  • “My friend had worked with them (Options in Conception) before and said they were really great. She highly recommended that I either be an egg donor or be a surrogate, since I’ve already had two kids.”
  • “Robin was like my favorite big sister since the moment I met her. She was always available to answer my questions, and she explained the whole process to me. I am happy to help others and help myself at the same time.
  • “I am a full-time student with too many bills to pay. I was going to pick up a part time job to help pay the bills, but could not find anything that would make me happy as well, until I learned about egg donation. It’s not the easiest process to go through, but they tried to accommodate my busy schedule and it worked out perfectly.

Intended Parents

What is egg donation?

Simply stated – egg donation is the retrieval of eggs from one female, usually an egg donor; harvested as embryos, to be implanted into the uterus of the intended mother.

Who benefits from egg donations?

Women that have been unsuccessful in using their own eggs in achieving pregnancy due to any number of conditions are one group that may benefit from egg donation.

  • Unexplained infertility
  • Perimenopause
  • Lack of, damaged or removed ovaries
  • Genetic disorders that may be transferred to offspring
  • Hormonal imbalances
  • Premature ovarian failure

What happens if we fail at our first donor cycle?

Our egg donors undergo a protocol of medication treatment designed to generate the most number of eggs possible in a cycle. At egg retrieval, our goal is to remove the highest quantity of eggs possible from the egg donor. Following the aspiration of the eggs, they are fertilized with the sperm and placed in incubators to be closely monitored for growth. Any embryos that are not used in the first cycle implant may be frozen for future use. If the first cycle is not successful, there will be other opportunities to utilize the frozen embryos at another cycle.

Others that may benefit from egg donations are same sex male couples that would like to start a family. Egg donation for male couples involves the added layer of finding a female surrogate for the donated eggs. The couple may decide to seek the help of a family friend or relative to either donate the eggs and/or act as the surrogate for the eggs. Another option would be to seek the assistant of an anonymous egg donor to minimize the personal involvement of friends or family.  This option would reduce any emotional attachment on the part of the relative or friend, allowing for a less stressful experience for the couple.

How do we find an egg donor?

The egg donation process begins with locating a reputable egg donation organization such as Options in Conception (OIC). It is not uncommon for fertility centers to branch into egg donation as an adjunct to their services. When the efforts are joined, a bond is created between the fertility team and the couple that fosters a common goal for successful conception. Egg donation agencies, whether affiliated with a fertility center or not, may be the first or second stop in seeking a viable candidate for eggs. Some couples may opt to use a family member or close friend as a candidate. Either way, there are many things to consider before beginning the journey into egg donation.

Will we be able to tolerate not having our own biological child?

Couples faced with alternatives to having a family often find themselves conflicted with the options.  With egg donation, the retrieved eggs from the donor are fertilized by the intended father’s sperm.  Genetically, the embryo will be partly biological to the intended parents through the father.  Although there is no direct genetic material transferred from the intended mother, she will have the opportunity to experience the pregnancy and begin the bonding process with the life that she has had an opportunity to nurture and grow in her body.  There are a great number of women that have had reservations about carrying an egg donated baby that experience the immense joy and happiness of seeing, feeling and loving the new life that they have had the opportunity to bring into the world as their own.

Do we want the donor to know who we are?

Couples that choose to utilize egg donor services are bound by the anonymity policies established by OIC.  If a couple decides to identify themselves to the donor, they must discuss the pros and cons of doing so with the consultants at OIC.  The egg donor may not be in agreement and may opt to remove herself from the selection process.  Each donor agency will have established guidelines for the protection of both donors and recipients.

How do I choose and what do I look for in an egg donor?

Egg donors will have a comprehensive profile of their health, education, family medical history, activities, physical traits, etc. on file with OIC.  Additionally, there will be an opportunity for intended parents to view pictures of the candidate at various ages in her lifetime.  Based on the criteria that the intended parents have for their ideal egg donor, they may identify 2-3 candidates that fit the requirements and choose which most meets what they are looking for in a donor.  Some couples may base their decision on the physical features of the candidate while others may be drawn to the family health history.  Each couple will be as unique in their selection process as there are unique candidates.

How do we know the egg donor will produce healthy eggs?

Options in Conception receives many applications for egg donors.  The age range for egg donors at OIC is between 19 and 30, traditionally considered the most fertile period in a woman’s life.  When we are reviewing applications for egg donors, we take into consideration her age, current health, past medical history, lifestyle, alcohol and drug use, education, living conditions, mental health, and many other factors that will allow us to screen for the healthiest candidates possible.  If an egg donor qualifies as a potential candidate, additional screening is done to determine her hormone levels, reproductive history, regularity of menstrual cycles, etc.  The results from the secondary screening will be used to determine if the donor will be able to produce healthy eggs.  Simply being in the age range does not guarantee the healthiest eggs.  Reviewing her full screening process results allows OIC to select the most promising list of candidates for our recipients.

Surrogates

How long does the process take?

While it is difficult to predict the length of the process, surrogates that apply and are accepted typically commit to a minimum of nine months to 18 months for the entire process to complete.  There may instances that may require additional time, such as in the case of an unsuccessful pregnancy or unforeseen situations with the surrogate or intended parents.

What happens if I am unable to become pregnant?

In the event that you are unable to become pregnant after the first round of treatment, there are safeguards in place to allow for multiple attempts to become pregnant.  The agreed upon number of embryos reserved for additional attempts is determined at the beginning of the contractual process.

Will I incur any out-of-pocket expenses if I am chosen as a surrogate?

No.  Any and all costs associated with the surrogacy program are covered by the intended parents and/or their insurance.  If there are circumstances where payment is required up-front for any stage of the process, e.g. maternity clothes, co-payments, medications – you will be reimbursed as soon as possible.

May I be a surrogate if I’ve never had children of my own?

No.  Because the intended parents are seeking someone that has had experience with pregnancy, you must have been able to carry, complete and deliver with little to no complications during your own pregnancy.

Are there any conditions under which I would not qualify as a surrogate?

Options in Conception has established guidelines for eligible candidates.  Please note that the guidelines have been created to ensure the physical, mental, emotional and financial health of the surrogate as an ideal candidate to carry the embryos for the intended parents.

If I am currently on birth control, can I still be a surrogate?

Yes.  If you are selected as a surrogate, a treatment program will be created to prepare your body for pregnancy.  You will have an opportunity to discontinue the use of any and all forms of birth control in order to be prepared for implantation of the embryo.

When do I receive my compensation as a surrogate?

Our surrogate compensation schedule is as follows:

  • $600 at start of injectable medication
  • $800 at embryo(s) transfer
  • $2500 per month after confirmation of fetal heartbeat(s)
  • Remainder due within 14 business days after delivery